Carrot, peanut butter and marmalade sandwich filling

Quick one this. I’ve found sandwich fillings to be one of the biggest challenges I’ve found to eating meat-free. Now I enjoy cheese, but it’s not to healthy to rely on that every day. I love Marmite, but again it can feel repetitive.

While looking for inspiration I saw an idea that sounds really odd and thought I’d give it a go. I grated a carrot, mixed it with a tablespoon of peanut butter and a teaspoon of marmalade – hey presto I had a sandwich filling!

It’s got some room for improvement, for example next time I’ll use crunchy peanut butter (we only had smooth) and a thick marmalade for a sharper taste. I’m also wondering about adding some cumin, or perhaps some fresh coriander.

Have you tried an unusual combination that really works?

3 responses to “Carrot, peanut butter and marmalade sandwich filling

  1. My favourite treat is peanut butter, golden syrup and sultanas

    Or peanut butter and bananas

    Or peanut butter and marmite

    Finally ham, sandwich spread and horseradish

Leave a Reply

The English Hobbit Abroad

More specifically South Korea

yestolifeblog

health, inclusion, human potential

Vegetarian Dad

A blog on the joys of vegetarian parenting

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

Rocking In The Freelance World

One woman's adventures in self-employment

Anthony McKernan

Thought Shifting Vblogs in 120 seconds.

Penny Veg

plant-based wholefoods on a budget

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Sheep

Promoting the book

